Mac clipboard managers

The best clipboard manager for Mac in 2026.

Eleven apps, checked against their own websites, App Store pages and code on 24 September 2026. Just Copy is ours, so weigh that part accordingly.

It depends on how you work. Maccy is the best free one. Paste is the most complete if you want Mac, iPhone and iPad in step and don’t mind a subscription; PastePal does that for one payment. Raycast and Alfred make sense if you already live in their launcher. Just Copy keeps every copy as a card you reach from the notch, for one payment, and lets Claude, Cursor and Codex read it if you switch that on.
AppPriceiPhoneWords in imagesAI tools
Just Copy$29.99 once at launch, then $49Coming soon, includedYesLocal MCP for Claude, Cursor, Codex
MaccyFree, open source; $9.99 on the App StoreNoYesNo
Paste$3.99/month, $29.99/year or $89.99 onceYes, iCloud syncYesLocal MCP
RaycastFree, 3 months of history; Pro $10/monthNoYesPaid plans
Alfred£34 PowerpackNoNot statedNo
ClipBook$9.99 once for one MacNoYesNo
PastePal$14.99 once, Mac, iPhone and iPadYes, iCloud syncNot statedNo
CopyClip 2$7.99 onceNoNo, text onlyNo
Pastebot 3$39 once with a year of updates, or $24.99/yearNoNot statedNo

Best free: Maccy

Free and open source, or $9.99 on the Mac App Store if you’d rather buy it there. It does one job: a fast, keyboard-first list of what you copied, and since 2025 it also finds images by the words inside them. It keeps up to 999 copies, all on your Mac. There’s no iPhone app and no sync.

Best across Mac, iPhone and iPad: Paste

The most complete of the lot: a visual history on every Apple device through your own iCloud, pinboards for things you reuse, search inside screenshots, and since June 2026 a local MCP server for AI tools. It costs $3.99 a month, $29.99 a year or $89.99 once, after a 7-day trial. History keeps 30 days unless you choose forever.

If you want the same reach for one payment, PastePal is $14.99 once for Mac, iPhone and iPad, with iCloud sync. You can try it free, but it won’t paste until you buy it.

Best inside a launcher: Raycast or Alfred

If Raycast is already your launcher, its clipboard history is free and keeps three months; Pro, at $10 a month, keeps it longer. It can read the text in copied images, but the history never syncs between devices. Alfred’s clipboard history comes with the £34 Powerpack, keeps up to three months and is off until you turn it on.

Best one-time price for one Mac: ClipBook

$9.99 once for one Mac, $14.99 for two, $29.99 for five, after a 5-day trial. Unlimited history, images found by the text inside them, and plenty of text tools. Mac only, stored locally, no sync.

Also one payment: CopyClip 2 is $7.99 and keeps text only. Pastebot 3 is $39 with a year of updates, needs macOS 26, and is strong at transforming text before it pastes.

Best in the notch, and for AI tools: Just Copy

Ours. Everything you copy is kept as a card, sixteen kinds each drawn as what it is, in a tray that drops from the notch, or sits above the Dock on a Mac without one. Search reads the words inside screenshots, smart folders fill themselves by rule, and a local MCP server lets Claude, Cursor and Codex search what you’ve copied, off until you switch it on. $29.99 once at launch, then $49, with optional iCloud sync; the iPhone app is coming soon and included. There’s no trial, but a full refund within 14 days.

Built into macOS: Spotlight

Since macOS Tahoe, Spotlight can keep what you copied: turn it on in System Settings under Spotlight, then press Cmd-Space and Cmd-4. It keeps 30 minutes, 8 hours or 7 days of copies, with nothing to install and no sync. If a short list covers your day, that may be all you need.

Also around

Flycut is free and keeps text only; its last release was in December 2020. Clipy is free, came back in June 2026 after eight years, has no search yet and turns analytics on by default. PasteBar is free for Mac and Windows; its last release was in June 2025.

How we checked

Every fact about another app comes from its maker’s website, its App Store page or its public code, as they stood on 24 September 2026. Prices are in US dollars except Alfred’s, which is sold in pounds. Apps change; check their sites before you buy. If we got something wrong, tell us at [email protected] and we’ll fix it.

Questions

What is the best clipboard manager for Mac?

It depends on how you work. Maccy is the best free one; Paste is the most complete across Mac, iPhone and iPad, on a subscription; PastePal covers the same devices for one payment; Raycast and Alfred suit people who live in their launcher; Just Copy keeps every copy as a card you reach from the notch and can share it with AI tools. Just Copy is ours.

Is there a free clipboard manager for Mac?

Yes. Maccy is free and open source. Raycast’s free plan keeps three months of clipboard history, and macOS Tahoe and later keep a short history in Spotlight. Flycut and Clipy are free too, but they are text-first and rarely updated.

Does a Mac have a clipboard manager built in?

Since macOS Tahoe, yes: Spotlight can keep what you copied for 30 minutes, 8 hours or 7 days. Turn it on in System Settings under Spotlight, then press Cmd-Space and Cmd-4. Earlier versions of macOS keep only the last thing you copied.

Which clipboard managers work with AI tools like Claude?

Just Copy runs a local MCP server that Claude, Cursor and Codex can search, off until you switch it on. Paste added a local MCP server in June 2026. Raycast’s paid plans can ask questions of your clipboard history inside Raycast.